December 19, 2009 Blizzard: Backyard Pics

Posted on December 20, 2009. Filed under: Current Events, Environmental Issues, Nature |

Click on photo to see better detail.
 
Bamboo in Snow Cardinal Eating Seed
Bamboo in Snow Cardinal Eating Seed
Holly in Icicles Bamboo in Snow No. 2
Holly in Icicles Bamboo in Snow No. 2
Bamboo in Snow No. 3 Squirrel in Feeder
Bamboo in Snow No. 3 Squirrel in Feeder
 
Click on photo to see better detail.

I was relieved when I heard the weekend snow forecast because I had not done my homework for Saturday’s Microsoft Project class. Friday night I fervently checked the Internet for school closings, just like kids do.

The eighteen inches of snow that fell Friday and all day Saturday ensured that there was no class on Saturday. My wish came true, but with a price tag: The weather totally changed my weekend schedule.

While the snow continually blew through the yard on Saturday, I put new seed and peanuts out for the backyard birds, squirrels, foxes, and other animals just about every hour. The snow was falling so quickly and the wind was so strong that snow kept covering the seed, even though all the feeders have covers over them.

Thankfully, the snow stopped early on Sunday, today. I spent at least four hours today shoveling the yard and my car, although I doubt I will be driving that car anywhere tomorrow. The plows have yet to get to our street.

A good part of the rest of the day I have laid on the couch, staring at the plethora of grazing birds and squirrels, my body aching in all sorts of places. I am going to be sore tomorrow for sure. In fact, my fingers hurt while I am typing — that must be from holding the shovel with pounds of snow on it.

I got plenty of wonderful outdoors exercise on Saturday and Sunday but I still have not done my homework. 🙂

Photos copyright 2009 VisualInfo.Biz, Inc.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “December 19, 2009 Blizzard: Backyard Pics”

RSS Feed for Always in Motion Comments RSS Feed

Jean ~
Love your pictures and your account regarding the weekend! I could almost visualize looking at the birds and squirrels with you. Enjoy the beautiful blanket of white! Thanks so much for sharing.

I really like the holly in icicles picture, Jean! It has been a long time since I’ve even seen icicles. I’m really sore from the same sort of weekend exercise and I can say most local roads here in Maryland are in very sad unplowed condition. Snowplows in New England do a much better job of getting local roads cleared.

Wonderful pics! You have a real eye for beauty. See you soon.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...